barbour doudoune moncler femme louboutin pas cher mercurial vapor pas cher hollister louboutin
Expired Competitions



(CHICAGO) ­ The Chicago Architecture Club has chosen the winner of its 2002 Burnham Prize Competition, a juried exercise focusing on conceptual designs for a new facility for Spertus Institute of Jewish Studies, 618 South Michigan Ave.

The winning entry was submitted by Keith Paul Mitnick and partners, of Ann Arbor, Michigan.

³We were impressed by the powerful connection of the structure with its surroundings,² says Sorkin of Mitnick¹s winning design. ³We also admired the way the museum, library and other parts of the institution were integrated.²

The First Prize winner was awarded $5000 and a three-month internship at the American Center in Rome. Second Prize of $1000 went to Joel T. Agacki and Michael Striegel of Milwaukee, Wisconsin; and Third Prize of $500 went to Joh Jae-hyun of The Republic of Korea.

Inspired by the visionary tradition of Chicago architecture exemplified by Daniel Burnham, the 2002 Burnham Prize Competition is intended to expand the limits of what is possible for the multi-faceted Spertus Institute as it faces future growth.
The winners were chosen from a pool of 14 finalists, who were selected from a total of 88 entries, the largest pool in the competition¹s more than twenty-year history. A creative exercise only, the designs will not result in a commission for a new building.

The jury was chaired by Michael Sorkin, noted critic and Director of the Graduate Urban Design Program at New York¹s City College. Other jurors include Stuart Cohen, Professor, University of Illinois ­ Chicago and Principal, Stuart Cohen and Julie Hacker, Architects; Judith Russi Kirshner, Dean, College of Architecture and Art, University of Illinois - Chicago; Ron Krueck, Principal, Krueck & Sextons; Ben Nicholson, Studio Professor of Architecture, Illinois Institute of Technology; John Ronan, Principal, John Ronan Architect, and President, Board of Directors, Chicago Architecture Club; Richard Solomon, Director, Graham Foundation for Advanced Studies in Fine Arts; Howard A. Sulkin, President, Spertus Institute; and Martha Thorne, Associate Curator, Department of Architecture, Art Institute of Chicago.

For additional information about the Burnham Prize Competition call John Ronan of the Chicago Architecture Club at 312/951-6600.

Copyright © 2016 Competitions. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.